NSSegmentedControl example

Coding Questions, IDE related or anything else

NSSegmentedControl example

Postby tanzanite » Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:41 pm

Hi,

<ramble>
I'm new to objective-basic. So far, I see LOTS of possibilities and potential with it, and I really love the language. As a REALbasic programmer, I'm getting to understand how to hook the code up in Interface Builder, though it's not always obvious how. I like the much cleaner app appearance than those done in RB. In the future, I would like to see separate coding examples for each of the different controls. Between the examples available and Apple's Cocoa documentation, there are lots of things that are not obvious. Apple's documentation shows a heavy bent toward Objective-C, so how to do things here are not that clear. I have had success getting values from NSTextFields and NSButtons as well as putting values in the NSTextFields, but the NSSegmentedControl has me stumped :? . I also need to hook up an NSDatePicker to get a date value.
</ramble>

To the point:

I have been trying for days to write code to get the value of a segment or the index of an NSSegmentedControl in a normal application window, all with no luck. I have a function that gets activated when I click the control in the window, but I have been unable to access the values contained in it. Any example code and explanation for this and/or the NSDatePicker would be extremely appreciated.
tanzanite

Re: NSSegmentedControl example

Postby berndnoetscher » Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:37 am

I totally agree with your post. Examples for each available controls will follow. The next time you get stuck, please just ask in the forum to get support. :-)
Will post an example to your problem soon.
berndnoetscher
Site Admin

Postby berndnoetscher » Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:02 pm

The following code is connected to a NSSegmentedControl in a MainMenu.nib and is executed whenever the users presses this control.
It shows the selected index.

Code: Select all